365 Ways To Double Your Sales – 5

Choose Who To Lose

Welcome to the Age of Relevance.

When I ask people “how does Google get paid?” I usually get a lot of tilted head looks, some guesses like “AdWords?” or “PPC?” or “Sponsored links?”

While all of those are mostly correct, the real answer is Google gets paid by delivering relevant ads at the Moment of Relevance.

If you do a Google search for “iPhone” you’ll see search results related to iPhones, AT&T, MP3 players, iPods, etc. What you WON’T see are ads for chihuahuas because they aren’t relevant to your search phrase.

I tell you this because you, too, must deliver relevant content to your prospects and customers, which means you need to be thorough with your list segmentation (or categorizing or tagging.)

For example, I have several free reports and/or audio downloads I offer here as my lead magnets:

As you can see, these lead magnets appeal to different sales and marketing experts at different times in their career. If someone downloads the 20.1 Facebook Business Basics I’ll eventually invite them to my Social Media Mondays training program.

Conversely, if a prospect downloads The 7 Deadly Sins of Selling I’ll invite them to join my Make Every Sale program.

By segmenting my list I can make relevant offers at relevant times to prospects that enter my “gravity well.” This enables me to cross-promote, up-sell and deliver special one time offers to continuously monetize my list and grow my profits.

The marketplace is more discerning than ever. You need to fine tune your marketing and speak DIRECTLY to the needs, wants, fears and desires of your prospects so they know that you know them or they will get their needs fulfilled by someone they think understands them better.

If you only have Outlook right now get familiar with the “Categories” feature to begin segmenting your list and keep as much information on your clients and prospects as possible.

Your list is your gold. Treat it as such and continue to mine it to make as much money as you want.

If you need more help growing your sales, check out the following resources scattered around this site and a few others I operate, such as:

Good Selling,