Are you a “hardcore closer” or a jerk?

Does It Pay To Be a Hardcore Closer?

Since 1997 I’ve been in full time, commissioned sales.

Since 2006 I’ve owned The Sales Whisperer® and have grown this business to provide a nice life for my family of nine plus Decker the Diabolical. 

Since July 2013 I’ve published 186 episodes of The Sales Podcast and have been fortunate to learn from several multi-New York Times bestselling authors, millionaires, former Navy SEALs, men and women who have overcome extreme hardship, injuries, and disabilities, and the list goes on.

Over these nearly three years most of the people I’ve invited to be on The Sales Podcast have accepted. However, a few have been un-invited based on their responses as documented above.

Be Aware of How You Come Across

The individual I invited is successful by all outward measurements:

  • Apparent monetary success

  • Large social media following

  • Photos in front of jets and limos

  • Colorful tattoo

  • Seems to be a loving single parent

  • Throws around F-bombs because…that’s what cool, successful people, ahh, do, you know?

Because of our different approaches to sales and sales training, I invited him to be a guest because I want my listeners to see a variety of techniques so they can make their own decisions.

Then this guy replies with

“How big is your audience?”. 

That’s like a woman asking a guy who just asked her out on a date

“What kind of car do you drive?”

 That’s like an insurance meathead asking the lady of the house

“When will your husband—the real decision maker—be home?”

That’s like a technology sales rookie saying to the IT Director 

“When can I see the CIO because I only speak to C-Level executives.”

In fairness, he’s probably a busy guy and he needs to guard his time wisely so learning more about me, my podcast, the distribution, the time it will take, etc are important things to know, especially now that every Tom, Dick, and Hairy with a computer and a microphone are launching podcasts.

Likewise, attractive women are hit on reguarly so they can be choosy and insurance sales people need to have both spouses present when they meet and technology sales people will eventually need to meet the CIO and the CFO to get buy-in on the deal.

However, the words you use are vital to making the best first impression, which you and I know we only get one chance to make.

Words Mean Things

How else could this guy have responded to my request? (Yes, I know I could’ve sent him 10 paragraphs showing screenshots of downloads, distribution statistics and methods, reviews, etc. but after 186 episodes I have learned that the type of people I want on my show graciously respond with a simple one line message, “Hey, would you like to be on The Sales Podcast?”. It’s also part of what I believe is the New ABCs of Selling, “Always Be Concise.” Throw a little morsel out there and see if you get a nibble. Then throw a little more. It’s called “pull” selling vs. “push” selling. )

He could have said and/or done:

  • Thank you for the invitation. Please tell me more.

  • Thank you for the invitation. I hope I don’t come across as rude or arrogant but I get a lot of requests like this. Could you please tell me more?

  • Thank you for the invitation. Would you mind coordinating with my assistant who helps manage my interviews? (Then instruct his assistant to screen me carefully to make sure it’s a good fit. A good sales trainer would know how to both handle gate keepers and train his own, right?)

  • Just ignored my request. 

Unfortunately—and instead—he replied in just about the rudest way he could, especially to a fellow podcaster, author, speaker, trainer, and Texan…which reminds me of a joke.

“I bought my mother-in-law a cemetery plot for Christmas…The next year I didn’t get her anything and when she asked why I told her ‘Well, you haven’t used what I got you last year.'” AND THAT’S WHEN THE FIGHT STARTED!

Now I have friends telling me he’s bad-mouthing me on his private Facebook group. Actions speak louder than words. 

If your goal is to grow, focus on the words you use and put yourself in the shoes of your prospects. See things from their point of view.

And check your ego at the door. 

Remember, selling is a calling; serving is its purpose; questioning is the process; and a sale may be the solution. 

Approach your sales efforts from that vantage point and you will make every sale.

Good Selling,