Does Science and Facts Help You Make The Sale?

Aspartame is dangerous” say a lot of people.

No it is not” say a lot of scientists.

Scientists can’t be trusted” say a lot of people.

People are illogical” says Spock (a scientist).”

We’re losing sales…so we’ll stop using aspartame” says Pepsi.When I was a stock broker I learned that the market could remain irrational longer than I could remain solvent, which means I could be “right” in determining that a stock should go up or down but be wrong in my timing and end up broke if I don’t adjust my sails according to the direction of the wind.

When you’re in business, sometimes* the only fact that matters is sales. (*I say “sometimes” because if you determine something is wrong with your offering you have a moral/ethical reason to pull it from the shelf even if the public is unaware and buying it hand over fist.)

Pepsi responded to market demand.

Is aspartame dangerous?

I don’t know for sure but I do know that drinking a lot of beer, soda, natural fruit juice, even water can kill you, so I’m a big fan of “everything in moderation,”…except sales.

Don’t you want to make excessive sales?