How are your New Year’s Resolutions coming along?

Like eating right, flossing after meals, and going to bed earlier, setting goals and resolutions can be tough, but they are worth the effort.

A “resolution” or “goal” for me last year was to become a published author.

Despite some big setbacks I went to print in September and the 2nd edition is coming out next month. If I didn’t have that written down and staring me in the face I probably wouldn’t have reached that goal.

Goal setting is hard. I’ve done it for well over a decade and felt like I wasn’t very good at it. (I wasn’t and am still only “ok” at it.) But as I look back on goals going back many years I’m amazed at how many of them I reached even though I usually created them and set them aside, never to be seen until a year later when I went to renew them.

Life is full of distractions and temptations that can pull us off of our ideal path. I think goals and resolutions can serve as an “achievement North Star” to help nagivate our way through social media time sucks, relationship & health setbacks, failing home appliances and roof leaks, crashing computers, disloyal/dishonest partners, kids struggling in school or worse, broken down cars, late mortgage payments, letters from the IRS, and 1,698,227 other things that life can throw at us in any given year.

So put some things down on paper even if you’re reading this in February, June or November. You’ll be amazed at how much more clarity you have in your daily and weekly work life and you’ll be one step ahead when it comes time to prepare for next year.

Life and business success is a journey, not a sprint.

So how are you coming along with your resolutions?

If you need more help growing your sales, check out the following resources scattered around this site and a few others I operate, such as:

Good Selling,

Wes Schaeffer Infusionsoft Sales & Sales Training Signature