Starting Camp Fires In The Rain…and Marketing

From The Implementors Group:

"Hello implementors.

"I am starting a warranty business that also provides maintenance services. What are some things I should keep in mind as I begin this journey?"

Scott, when I was in the Air Force I went through and then taught survival training and after getting water they taught us how to build a fire, even in the rain. (It was raining during my test. Fun.)

What they stress is the need to get THREE TIMES more wood than you think you need because it will burn up fast.

So you gather wood and gather wood and gather wood and gather wood and gather wood and gather wood and gather wood and gather wood and gather wood…and gather some more wood.

You gather so much wood you think "To hell with this. I'll just eat raw rabbit and stay cold tonight."

But then you get enough wood and you have a nice fire and you take off your wet / sweaty socks and you dry out your boots and dry off your shirt and you eat some warm food and your body and soul are nourished and your spirit is renewed along with your confidence and you live to fight another day and accomplish your mission.

"Great, Wes,…but I have a grill and a fire pit with gas running to them both with ignition switches so…can you get to the point?"

The point is, building your business is like building a fire in the rain and your marketing and promotion is the wood.

You need to do THREE TIMES more marketing and promotion than you think you need because our attention spans are limited and the messages are never-ending from your competitors.

I tell my clients "10% product, 90% promotion."

Get even close to that ratio and you'll win.

Good luck.

Now go sell something.