Winning Through Intimidation

Around 2008 I read a "Winning through Intimidation: How to Be the Victor, Not the Victim, in Business and in Life" from 1973 written by a salesman named Robert Ringer.

It is not what you think it is, as I'll explain in this review.

Positive Mental Attitude Comes From Being Prepared

People always ask me if I'm a "motivational speaker." I tell them

When you know what to do in order to stay in control of every phase of every sale, thereby ensuring you make a lot of money, thereby increasing your motivation to do what you do, then, yes, I'm a motivational sales speaker."

The difference between rookies and professionals is that rookies practice until they get something right while professionals practice something until they can't get it wrong.

The reason people are nervous to get up and give a talk is that they haven't prepared.

There are two problems with this type of preparation:

  1. It takes discipline, which requires focused effort.

  2. It gets boring and monotonous.

We've been fed the manure that "when you do something you love you never work a day in your life," and "follow your passion," and similar manifesting/vision board mumbo jumbo.

I guarantee you Tom Brady doesn't love sitting his 42-year old body in ice baths and getting deep tissue massages and watching hours of game film every week.